Home > advertising, communication, culture, education > #5 – Breaking the barriers?
  1. wensssy
    March 8, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    Personally I also didn’t see the word ZION until the article pointed it out.
    Designs are very personal and different people perceive it differently. Obviously if the Iran people have something to stand up strong against, the design will appear to be like ZION to them. But everybody will have to be tolerant towards each other’s culture or else riots will be occuring so frequently over minor disputes. I think the best method is for London to publish an explanation for the design.

  2. March 13, 2011 at 1:03 pm

    I too see the “ZION”only when you pointed that out! This design is subjective thus it really depends on how each individual perceive based on their culture and upbringing. I feel that this is a baseless controversy, Olympics is one international event that embraces every sportsman from every country together.

    Well, I have some slight problems when I tried to communicate with my French friends and also the shopkeepers when I went to Paris 2 years ago. The French do not really speak basic English hence there was some miscommunications in between when I tried to order food. However, non verbal cues are thus put to use efficiently! I could point to a particular food that I want and use some hand languages to the shopkeeper but such could be avoided if I learn more basic French and they be more proficient in basic English too! 😀

  3. Jeannette
    March 28, 2011 at 2:25 pm

    Honestly, I still can’t see the word, not even after you pointed it out. (Probably my perception problem…but this is not what the post is about… :D)

    It’s just a bad case of perception, I think. Iran would be more sensitive to words regarding Christianity because of them being an Islamic state. Just like any other country that has a state religion, I’m sure that we are all sensitive to whatever is said about our religion. It is only natural for them to reject it.

    On a whole, this problem is actually very much fixable. Because of the diversity of the world today, everybody (not only London) should pay closer attention to words that carry meanings that differs from country to country, just to avoid this situations from happening.

  4. March 29, 2011 at 1:37 pm

    I agree that the best way to solve issues that involves culture is by resisting ethnocentric bias. Similar to the Nike and Islamic group end logo logjam issue.(http://articles.cnn.com/1998-11-21/us/9811_21_nike.islamic_1_nihad-awad-playgrounds-cair?_s=PM:US)

    I felt that one should not read or criticize too much about a particular logo, as the initial purpose was just remain purely as a logo and wasn’t to discriminate any gods or culture. In addition, it seems like there are various symbolic logos issues involves around Islamic group. Hence, isn’t it wiser if they just had a Islamic advisers for every Olympic games to prevent such happening?

    Moreover, i don’t see the word “ZION” till u mentioned, thus, maybe both the Olympic games organizers and the Islamic group can be more tolerant towards each others and Iran to not boycott the Olympic, because it will reflect quite negatively on the country’s image.

  5. milollita
    April 3, 2011 at 8:17 am

    I think both sides should learn to be forgiving. Of course, it’s easier said that done. It may be a bit easier to do on a personal level too. Of course, some people, in this case some countries, are just more sensitive to things like these. And of course, there are people that need to make a whole hoo-ha out of it to get attention and think that the whole world is against them. If more people (and maybe countries) could learn to be a little more forgiving and considerate of each others’ differences, there wouldn’t be so much war and conflict in the world. Sometimes it just takes one step down from your pedestal to see the real world.

  6. April 4, 2011 at 11:54 am

    Wow I didn’t even know about this news until I read your entry. I think even though it might seem extreme for Iran to boycott the event, it’s kind of understandable just because of the whole religion issue. Religion is a really sensitive topic, and if people are not careful, so many negative consequences can occur.

    However, I don’t think the London Olympic organisers were even aware that the logo spells ‘Zion’. I mean, reading other comments here, I don’t think other people would have recognised it too, me included. (I don’t really see it still, actually.) It was probably just the Iranians being a wee bit too sensitive. I think the best way is for both sides to be more understanding of each other, and realise that we should respect each other’s cultures and religion. As they say, love makes the world go round. 🙂

  7. April 4, 2011 at 2:30 pm

    i spent for like 5 minutes trying to see the word ZION and I still couldn’t see it 🙂 so I honestly don’t think the Olympic organizers actually aware of the spell either 🙂
    People can be pretty sensitive sometimes. So instead of just letting it go, they decided to make a big deal of of it and it got to nowhere.

  8. April 7, 2011 at 2:00 pm

    in all honesty – a logo in use for the distraction of such a huge social movement? guess they shouldn’t be surprised if it doesn’t work!

    pardon my ignorance but it seems like this entire debacle can be shoved under a rather general but very true umbrella of differing perceptions – look around us, what do we NOT fight over just because of a differing opinion?

    in lieu of the ever-changing society, especially in the one we are living in, i’d say that cultural definitions should play a significant role in our decisions but not overriding all other factors at the same time. it is about finding the balance isn’t it?

  9. April 17, 2011 at 5:29 am

    Instead of “Zion”, I see “Zioz”, and even so, I’m pushing it quite far by saying “Zioz”. 2012 is more prominent in any case. As a free thinker, I cannot understand how people can be so uptight over a logo. In addition, it’s rather childish to boycott this event just because they ~see~ “Zion” in a logo. Also, how does changing the logo resolve the problem? For the time being yes, perhaps they’ll forgive London, but in all honesty, what will happen the next time something similar happens? Should we give in to these overly uptight people every single time they think they see something relating to their religion, belief, or even (gasp) country name? I feel that it’s rather absurd. Take a chill pill. Not everyone wants to attack you (or everyone in general).

    On a side note, they would probably want to boycott the Japanese music industry if they come to know of a song called “Zion”. Haha.

  10. April 17, 2011 at 7:48 am

    I have seen this article, a very common and sensitive issue. I would say ridiculous, but I know how I should not just judge, because while I may not find this an issue worth creating such a huge spectacle over, it may mean a lot to some. Having studied history, i know the ideological conflict Iraq faces with Israel over Zion. I suppose given their long history together, a small issue is enough to create a thunderstorm.

    Fel

  11. shazz
    April 17, 2011 at 10:03 am

    I honestly don’t see the word ZION in the logo. It does come across as a little ridiculous and that Iran might seem to be over sensitive at first but then again, who wouldn’t be sensitive when the topic on religion is involved?

  12. Ayu
    April 17, 2011 at 1:29 pm

    Personally, I don’t see the word Zion at all. Although Iran is unhappy with the religious association of the word, I don’t think they should not participate in the games. After all the should put their differences aside for the sporting aside.

    On a side note, changing the logo would be impossible since London have already started their publicity campaign.

  13. Liza
    April 17, 2011 at 2:14 pm

    Just like you, I only see the word after reading the article. I think when it comes to communication across cultures, sensitivity is crucial to ensure peace among cultures/country.

    I think there is another way for Iran to solve this issue rather than not participating in the Olympics. Iran needs to calm down; not everything is done to attack them as a country. Iran’s concern seems valid to me, but their reaction is too extreme.

  14. Cassandra
    April 17, 2011 at 3:32 pm

    I don’t really see the word Zion, but rather Zioz, similar to awquirked. I think Iran is not acting rationally, threatening not to participate over the logo. Sure they are sensitive due to the religious meaning behind the word, but they are not acting rationally.

    I think the main issue when communicating with someone from another culture is to ensure not to use slangs. In Singapore context, Singish might be confusing to comprehend and unintentionally exclude him/her.

  15. John
    April 21, 2011 at 8:56 pm

    It took me a while to trick my eyes to see how it could be interpreted as Zion. In a way, you could see how a 2 can both resemble a “Z” or an “N” depending how you rotate it. This logo is really in essence, art, and art is interpreted by everyone differently. It is a bit strange that this logo was released nearly 4 years ago, and it took this long for someone to interpret the word Zion from it. With the 2012 games roughly a year away, one could understand that it’s far too late to change the logo. In the very least however, the IOC should have acknowledged the sensitivity some may have to the logo and offered an apology or explanation, rather than flatly object the complaint.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

